Notes on my plan to photograh the eclipse

Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
alt-az-builder
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by alt-az-builder » Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:06 pm

Here is my general plan for photographing the eclipse. I've never done this before -- so anyone who thinks I'm off-base can chime in and tell me where I've gone wrong. My first priority is to view the eclipse -- so if something goes awry at the moment, then I will simply watch and not photograph.

In keeping with my goal of watching the eclipse as my first priority, I will employ the interval shooting program on my Nikon camera. This program can be used in conjunction the automatic bracketing program to take a series of photos with different exposure settings at each individual interval.

To accomplish this combination, one must set the exposure bracketing first. I plan to use my excellent Nikon 80 to 400 zoom set at 400 mm and f/5.6. This is a super-sharp lens that I've tested with photos of the Moon. (This lens puts my Nikon 18-300 zoom, which is Nikon's top-of-the-line DX format zoom, completely to shame!)

Next, I will set the camera for manual operation and set the ISO setting also for manual operation at ISO 100. I will also set the camera and lens for manual focusing. At least on zoom lenses, one can not depend on the infinity focus mark on the lens. I plan to experiment ahead of time with photos of the Moon to fine the best focus setting.